Campus Pride Blog

Newly appointed Campus Pride Advisory Board (CPAB) elects executive board members

Members of the advisory board represent 16 colleges and universities from across the nation and are tasked with supporting students of higher education with opportunities to increase their knowledge of Campus Pride and the LGBTQ Community.

Last month, Campus Pride officially selected members to the Campus Pride Advisory Board along with electing executive board positions. The advisory board focuses on providing direction to the organization, feedback on programs as well as involvement opportunities and fundraising. The president and vice president of the advisory board also serve as full members of the Campus Pride Board of Directors.

“The Campus Pride Advisory Board is uniquely intended to provide a voice and active leadership for and by our LGBTQ and ally youth,” said Shane Windmeyer, Executive Director of Campus Pride. “Input, direction and authentic involvement in the leadership by queer youth is essential to knowing what programs and services are most effective. Many of these individuals have been actively involved in Campus Pride and I am confident these newly appointed roles with the Advisory Board will be a great way to continue that involvement.”

Jess McDonald, former Media, Communications and Programs Manager for Campus Pride and current University of Massachusetts Amherst graduate student, was elected as President of the Advisory Board. “I’m excited to continue working with Campus Pride in this new role. The advisory board demonstrates Campus Pride’s continued commitment to student voice and leadership, and I am honored to be selected by my peers to lead this new endeavor,” Jess said.

In addition, Katie Barnes was elected Vice President of the Campus Pride Advisory Board. Katie is a graduate student at Miami University and is a recipient of the 2013 Voice & Action Award. The Secretary position will be filled in by James Blackburn, a founding member of the first official LGBT organization at North Carolina A&T State University, P.R.O.U.D. (People Recognizing Out Underlying Differences). Tyler Hargis, a strong advocate for the LGBT community on his campus at Bridgewater State University, was elected Development Coordinator to the Advisory Board. Gracie Harrington, a student leader at Wake Forest University who also spearheads the Campus Pride Student Network, will serve as the Advisory Board’s Historian.

Below is a list of the inaugural members of the Advisory Board and the schools they represent.

Jess McDonald – President, University of Massachusetts Amherst, Amherst, MA

Katie Barnes – Vice President, Miami University, Oxford, OH

James Blackburn – Secretary, North Carolina A&T State University, Greensboro, NC

Tyler Hargis – Development Coordinator, Bridgewater State University, Bridgewater, MA

Gracie Harrington – Historian, Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, NCslide1

Lindsay Ferguson – Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY

Romeo Jackson – Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, IL

Stephanie Rodriguez – University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Oshkosh, WI

Caden Gillespie – Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ

Paul Sira – Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, NY

Ryan Fecteau – The Catholic University of America, Washington, DC

Russell Cornelius – University of Central Missouri, Warrensburg, MO

Alaine Rhea Jolicoeur – Rollins College, Winter Park, FL

TJ Fisher – Washington & Lee University, Lexington, VA

Rikki Bower – West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV

Gonzalo Agudelo – Campus Pride Executive Assistant & Programs Manager

Rebecca Kern – Campus Pride Media, Communications and Programs Manager

Find bios of each board member by visiting

Campus Pride is the leading national educational organization for LGBTQ and ally college students and campus groups building future leaders and safer, more LGBTQ-friendly colleges and universities. The organization provides resources and services to thousands of college students and nearly 1400 campuses annually. Learn more online at